You are currently using an outdated browser. For the best viewing experience, please upgrade your browser here.
Melbourne CBD 03 9604 2888
Contact Info
03 9604 2888
Melbourne CBD Branch Level 8 / 160 Queen Street
MELBOURNE VIC 3000
melbournecbd@horner.com.au
Mulgrave (VIC) 03 8558 4444
Contact Info
03 8558 4444
Mulgrave Branch Unit 6, 12 Compark Circuit
MULGRAVE VIC 3170
mulgrave@horner.com.au
Tullamarine (VIC) 03 9335 9999
Contact Info
03 9335 9999
Tullamarine Branch Unit 8, 2 Tullamarine Park Road
TULLAMARINE VIC 3043
tullamarine@horner.com.au
Sydney 1300 119 580
Contact Info
1300 119 580
Sydney Branch Level 1/98-100 Moore Street,
LIVERPOOL NSW 2170
sydney@horner.com.au
Brisbane 1300 119 580
Contact Info
1300 119 580
Brisbane Branch 27 James Street,
FORTITUDE VALLEY QLD 4006
brisbane@horner.com.au
Perth 1300 119 580
Contact Info
1300 119 580
Perth Branch 6/132 Terrace Road,
PERTH WA 6000
perth@horner.com.au
Adelaide 1300 119 580
Contact Info
1300 119 580
Adelaide Branch Suite 609/147 Pirie Street,
ADELAIDE SA 5000
adelaide@horner.com.au
Hobart 1300 119 580
Contact Info
1300 119 580
Hobart Branch Level 6, 85 Macquarie Street,
HOBART TAS 7000
hobart@horner.com.au

How will the Fair Work Commission decision on penalty rates affect your business?

16 March 2017

Earlier today, after a lengthy deliberation, the Fair Work Commission announced its decision to reduce Sunday & Public Holiday penalty rates for hospitality, restaurant, fast food, retail and pharmacy workers.

The percentage (%) amount of the reduction will vary from employment sector to employment sector and in some cases will be dependent on whether the employee is employed as permanent, part-time or casual and what level the employee is classified under the relevant Award.

Changes to Public Holiday penalty rates will take effect from 1 July 2017. For Sunday Penalty Rates there will be a transitional period to mitigate the hardship caused by the changes. As yet a decision has not been made as to what form those transition arrangements will take.

Today’s decision will impact many of our HORNER clients covered by the following Awards:

• Alpine Resorts Award 2010
• Fast Food Industry Award 2010
• General Retail Industry Award 2010
• Hospitality Industry (General) Award 2010
• Pharmacy Industry Award 2010

HORNER would like to reassure that these changes by Fair Work Australia will not impact on the current arrangements under which HORNER provides on-hired staff to you.

Keeping our clients informed of industrial relations issues is just one of the many benefits of dealing with HORNER.

Need further expert advice?

HORNER is at the forefront of industrial relations issues. HORNER has a resident IR expert, Darren James, who has over 25 years’ experience in the employment market. He is knowledgeable in all areas of employment legislation and can assist you with advice on award interpretation and industrial relations matters.

Simply contact your HORNER consultant or Darren James on 0417 519 669 or email darren.james@horner.com.au.

Back to Posts