You are currently using an outdated browser. For the best viewing experience, please upgrade your browser here.
Melbourne CBD 03 9604 2888
Contact Info
03 9604 2888
Melbourne CBD Branch Level 8 / 160 Queen Street
MELBOURNE VIC 3000
melbournecbd@horner.com.au
Mulgrave (VIC) 03 8558 4444
Contact Info
03 8558 4444
Mulgrave Branch Unit 6, 12 Compark Circuit
MULGRAVE VIC 3170
mulgrave@horner.com.au
Tullamarine (VIC) 03 9335 9999
Contact Info
03 9335 9999
Tullamarine Branch Unit 8, 2 Tullamarine Park Road
TULLAMARINE VIC 3043
tullamarine@horner.com.au
Sydney 1300 119 580
Contact Info
1300 119 580
Sydney Branch Level 1/98-100 Moore Street,
LIVERPOOL NSW 2170
sydney@horner.com.au
Brisbane 1300 119 580
Contact Info
1300 119 580
Brisbane Branch 27 James Street,
FORTITUDE VALLEY QLD 4006
brisbane@horner.com.au
Perth 1300 119 580
Contact Info
1300 119 580
Perth Branch 6/132 Terrace Road,
PERTH WA 6000
perth@horner.com.au
Adelaide 1300 119 580
Contact Info
1300 119 580
Adelaide Branch Suite 609/147 Pirie Street,
ADELAIDE SA 5000
adelaide@horner.com.au
Hobart 1300 119 580
Contact Info
1300 119 580
Hobart Branch Level 6, 85 Macquarie Street,
HOBART TAS 7000
hobart@horner.com.au

Can I restrict hiring based on sporting team?

26 May 2017

Hi Harry, I’m a Collingwood supporter and refuse to employ anyone that barracks for Carlton. I’m allowed to do this correct? 

Harry understands your pain and there are supporters of various sporting teams I would loathe to have in our business as well especially those cocky Bulldog supporters who are swanning about the place at the moment like they own it ……

So although I sympathize with you as a devotee of the Mighty Pies the umpires of this world take a dim view of employers discriminating in the workplace and will have you reported as quick as you can shout BaaarrrrLLLLLLLLLL !!!!!!!!!!

So to avoid the risk of having you punted all the way to the tribunal, Harry will give you the rules of the game !!!

The Fair Work Act was set up in 2009 to determine what is unlawful workplace discrimination with the Fair work Ombudsman given powers to investigate employers who breach the act.
The act states that you cannot as an employer take adverse action against an employee or potential on the grounds of the Race, Colour, Sex, Sexual Preference, Age, Physical or Mental Disability, Marital status, Family or Carer’s responsibilities, Pregnancy, Religion, Political Opinion, National Extraction or Social Origin.

So in your case the adverse action of not employing prospective employees that favour your football team would be deemed to be unlawful and therefore discriminatory for social origins.

I trust this helps you in your search for the perfect employee.

Back to Posts