You are currently using an outdated browser. For the best viewing experience, please upgrade your browser here.
Melbourne CBD 03 9604 2888
Contact Info
03 9604 2888
Melbourne CBD Branch Level 8 / 160 Queen Street
MELBOURNE VIC 3000
melbournecbd@horner.com.au
Mulgrave (VIC) 03 8558 4444
Contact Info
03 8558 4444
Mulgrave Branch Unit 6, 12 Compark Circuit
MULGRAVE VIC 3170
mulgrave@horner.com.au
Tullamarine (VIC) 03 9335 9999
Contact Info
03 9335 9999
Tullamarine Branch Unit 8, 2 Tullamarine Park Road
TULLAMARINE VIC 3043
tullamarine@horner.com.au
Sydney 1300 119 580
Contact Info
1300 119 580
Sydney Branch Level 1/98-100 Moore Street,
LIVERPOOL NSW 2170
sydney@horner.com.au
Brisbane 1300 119 580
Contact Info
1300 119 580
Brisbane Branch 27 James Street,
FORTITUDE VALLEY QLD 4006
brisbane@horner.com.au
Perth 1300 119 580
Contact Info
1300 119 580
Perth Branch 6/132 Terrace Road,
PERTH WA 6000
perth@horner.com.au
Adelaide 1300 119 580
Contact Info
1300 119 580
Adelaide Branch Suite 609/147 Pirie Street,
ADELAIDE SA 5000
adelaide@horner.com.au
Hobart 1300 119 580
Contact Info
1300 119 580
Hobart Branch Level 6, 85 Macquarie Street,
HOBART TAS 7000
hobart@horner.com.au

Most employers are very interested in what your past employers have to say, and will ask for reference checks to be conducted as part of a recruitment process. In nominating suitable referees, consider the following:

Your referee needs to be a person who knows you well enough to provide an accurate account of your skills, knowledge and experience. They should be prepared to be honest and ideally be an advocate for you in securing future work.

Referees usually include current supervisors and/or managers but can include previous managers. They should not be someone with whom you have a personal relationship, as their ability to comment specifically about your work performance is questionable.

You should always brief your referees on the role you are being considered for. Typically, the information they will be required to provide includes:

  • Verifying or commenting on claims you have made in your application or during the interview;
  • Confirming your performance in the role – conduct, skills, knowledge and experience;
  • Providing an insight into whether the new role you are being considered for is appropriate for you.

Remember that your referee is giving up their time and considered feedback during this process. In appreciation of their efforts make sure you call them to thank them.

← Back to Job Seeker Resources